Call Now to Talk with a Licensed Investigator
Text API to 797979
for an Immediate Response

‘Joker’ Composer Hildur Gudnadottir Wins Big at Inaugural Society of Composers and Lyricists Awards

Wednesday, January 8, 2020

Four months after winning an Emmy for her score to the miniseries “Chernobyl” and two days after taking home a Golden Globe for her music to “Joker,” composer Hildur Gudnadottir won new awards for both of those scores at the first annual SCL Awards, presented by the Society of Composers and Lyricists.

Cynthia Erivo and Joshuah Brian Campbell won the song award for “Stand Up” from “Harriet,” the film in which Erivo also stars. Kathryn Bostic won the award for indie film for her score to “Toni Morrison: The Pieces I Am.”

Although the SCL was formed in 1983 as an offshoot of previous organizations that had dated back to 1945, its efforts to promote the interests of composers and lyricists working in visual media did not include giving out awards until this year.  “What took you guys so long with the awards?” said composer Bill Conti at the beginning of the show. “People who work in Hollywood, we need constant approval.”

All five of the SCL’s nominated movie songs and four of its five scores in the Outstanding Original Score for a Studio Film category have made the Oscars’ music shortlists. One of the nominees in a category devoted to independent film, Alberto Iglesias’ score for “Pain and Glory,” was also shortlisted by the Academy.

Gordy Haab and Stephen Barton won for interactive media for “Star Wars Jedi: Fallen Order.”

“1917” composer Thomas Newman and director Sam Mendes were given a special Spirit of Collaboration Award. Newman’s score for the film was completed too late to qualify for a nomination in its category.

The ceremony took place at the Skirball Cultural Center in Los Angeles, and included performances from “Us” composer Michael Abels, violinist Philippe Quint and veteran saxophonist Gene Cipriano.

The nominees and winners:

Outstanding Original Score for a Studio Film
Michael Abels, “Us”
Michael Giacchino, “Jojo Rabbit”
Hildur Gudnadottir, “Joker” *WINNER
John Powell, “How to Train Your Dragon: The Hidden World”
Alan Silvestri, “Avengers: Endgame”

Outstanding Original Song for Visual Media
Kristen Anderson-Lopez and Robert Lopez, “Into The Unknown” from “Frozen II”
Kathryn Bostic, “High Above the Water” from “Toni Morrison: The Pieces I Am”
Joshuah Brian Campbell and Cynthia Erivo, “Stand Up” from “Harriet” *WINNER
Justin Paul, Benj Pasek and Alan Menken, “Speechless” from “Aladdin”
Diane Warren, “I’m Standing With You” from “Breakthrough”

Outstanding Original Score for an Independent Film
Jeff Beal, “The Biggest Little Farm”
Kathryn Bostic, “Toni Morrison: The Pieces I Am” *WINNER
Alberto Iglesias, “Pain and Glory”
Howard Shore, “The Song of Names”
Gabriel Yared, “Judy”

Outstanding Original Score for a Television or Streaming Production
Kris Bowers, “When They See Us”
Nicholas Britell, “Succession”
Kyle Dixon, Michael Stein, “Stranger Things”
Hildur Gudnadottir, “Chernobyl” *WINNER
Trent Reznor, Atticus Ross, “Watchmen”
Adam Taylor, “The Handmaid’s Tale”

Outstanding Original Score for Interactive Media
Neal Acree, “Rend”
Gordy Haab, Stephen Barton, “Star Wars Jedi: Fallen Order” *WINNER
Austin Wintory, “Erica”

Spirit of Collaboration Award
Thomas Newman and Sam Mendes

Related stories from TheWrap:

‘1917,’ ‘Joker,’ ‘The Irishman’ Among American Society of Cinematographers Nominees

12 Best Superhero Movies of the Decade, From ‘Avengers’ to ‘Black Panther’ to ‘Joker’ (Photos)

How ‘Joker’ Designer Mapped Gotham With a Touch of DC Comics and a Lot of Old NYC Squalor (Map)

Source: the wrap feed